Sibylle Tröster

Artistic Director of the 14th International Puppet Theatre Festival Synergura 2024

Dear friends of puppet theatre,

welcome to the 14th edition of Synergura - International Puppet Theatre Festival!
Many of you have been eagerly awaiting the next edition of our festival, whose focal point has been international puppetry since 1992.
Ensembles from ten countries have accepted the invitation of the host Theater Waidspeicher to come to Germany and enrich Thuringia's capital Erfurt with their outstanding productions. In more than 40 events, happening over the span of five days in June, the audience is invited to discover the diversity of our theatre form and fall under its spell. Open your hearts to the well-travelled artists and support us in being open-minded and great hosts.

I would like to thank all the sponsors of Synergura 2024, our local partners, all the helpers and the ensemble of Theater Waidspeicher, who have prepared this festival together with me in despite their own extensive theatre work.

I wish us all an eventful, wonderful festival!

Sibylle Tröster
Artistic Director of Theater Waidspeicher and Synergura 2024


Since 1992, Synergura, the well-known International Festival of the art of puppetry, has been a cultural highlight for theatre-goers from Thuringia and its state capital Erfurt, plus guests from further afield and theatre specialists from all over the world.

Theater Waidspeicher with the Artistic and Managing Director Sibylle Tröster is the host of the biennial festival.

During five days in September, outstanding ensembles and solo artists from ten countries, present their best productions for children, young people and adults in different places of Erfurts medieval city centre. The hosting Theater Waidspeicher, Theater Erfurt with its Main Hall and Studio.Box, Youth Theatre „Die Schotte“, the Small Synagogue and the world famous Evangelic Augustinian Monastery are very attractive festival venues.



The 14th International Puppet Theatre Festival Synergura will take place from 5th to 9th June 2024.


The programme for Synergura 2024 has been finalised. Please understand that we can no longer consider your application.

Theater Waidspeicher e.V.


Participating artists since 2012

Ariel Doron (Israel) | Avital Dvory Visual Theatre Group (Israel) | Blind Summit Theatre (United Kingdom) | Bolshoy Puppet Theatre St. Petersburg (Russia) | Christian Georg Fuchs (Germany) | Clair de Lune Théâtre (Belgium) | Compagnie Bagages de Sable (France) | Compagnie Le Pilier des Anges (France) | Compagnie Gare Centrale (Belgium) | Compagnie Les Voisins - Die Nachbarn (Germany) | Ensemble Materialtheater (Germany) | Figurentheater Margrit Gysin (Switzerland) | Das Papiertheater (Germany) | Drak Theatre (Czech Republic) | Familie Flöz (Germany) | figuren theater tübingen (Germany) | flunker produktionen (Germany | La Compagnie á (France) | Lichtbende (Netherlands) | Livsmedlet (Finland) | Lutz Großmann (Germany) | Manufaktor (Germany) | Michèle Anne De Mey, Jaco Van Dormael et le Collectif Kiss & Cry (Belgium) | Mini Teater (Slovenia) | Naivní Theatre Liberec (Czech Republic) | NBprojects (Netherlands) | Numen Company (Germany) | Odradek/Compagnie Pupella-Noguès (France) | Polina Borisova (France) | Plexus Polaire/Yngvild Aspeli (France/Norway) | Puppet Theatre Ljubljana (Slovenia) | Samuel Koch and Robert Lang (Germany) | Sandglass Theater (USA) | Sofie Krog Teater (Denmark/Spain) | Stuffed Puppet / Neville Tranter (Netherlands) | Taiyuan Puppet Theatre Company (Taiwan) | TAMTAM objektentheater (Netherlands) | Talking Object Theatre (Israel) | Tanztheater Erfurt e.V. | Thalias Kompagnons (Germany) | Teater Blik (Denmark) | Theater des Lachens (Germany) | Theater Erfurt (Germany) | Théâtre Incliné (Canada) | Théâtre du Chemin Creux (France) | Théâtre Octobre Brüssel (Belgium) | Theater, Oper und Orchester GmbH Halle, Puppentheater Halle (Germany) | Theater Tenj Moskau (Russia) | Theater Waidspeicher (Germany) | The Last Great Hunt (Australia) | The Train Theater (Israel) | The Turku International Puppetry Connection (Finland) | TJP Strasbourg (France) | Trio Gottschalk - Mürle - Soehnle (Germany) | Viktor Antonov (Russia) | Ulrike Quade Company (Netherlands) | WHS & Sungsoo Ahn Pick-up Group (Finland/Republic of Korea) | Xavier Bobés (Spain) | Yael Rasooly und Yaara Goldring (Israel) | Yeung Faï (Hongkong/France)